bro

“Come here,” he says.

“Closer.”

“No, it wasn’t supposed to happen like this.”

He looks at me with those

heart-devouring eyes.

Those blue canvases

with my tears painted in them.

“Please,” he says.  “You’ve ruined me.”

I rest my head on his

chest

and feel his slow heartbeat.

“Fucker, it wasn’t supposed to happen like this.”

I stare at the ceiling fan.

 

Oh, the days of peace.

When fucking was fuckin’.

When my whole heart was

in a place I knew of

and no one stole from me.

 

But now my heartbeat

isn’t so slow,

and my bones feel like they belong

in a horror film, shaking.

And a few things are missing from my safe.

 

“It wasn’t supposed to happen like this,” I say.

“I know, sweets.

“But it did.”

Leave a Reply

